IEEE Global Communications Conference
9-13 December 2018 // Abu Dhabi, UAE
Gateway to a Connected World

Call for Symposium Papers

Download Call for Submissions PDF >>

IEEE GLOBECOM 2018 will feature a comprehensive technical and industry program covering the latest research and innovation in communications technologies.

All papers for technical symposia (including Selected Areas in Communications) should be submitted via EDAS through the following link:


Paper Submission: 15 April 2018 25 April 2018 30 April 2018
Paper Notification: 15 July 2018
Camera-Ready Paper: 15 August 2018

Original technical papers are sought in the following areas:

Selected Areas in Communications Symposium

SAC - Access Networks and Systems (CFP)

  • Mauro Biagi, University of Rome, Sapienza, Italy

SAC -Big Data (CFP)

  • Honggang Wang, University of Massachusetts (UMass) Dartmouth, USA

SAC - Cloud Computing, Networking and Storage (CFP)

  • Khaled Salah, Khalifa University of Science and Technology, UAE

SAC - e-Health (CFP)

  • Nada Y. Philip, Kingston University London, UK

SAC - Internet of Things (CFP)

  • Latif Ladid, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

SAC - Molecular, Biological and Multi-Scale Communications (CFP)

  • Tadashi Nakano, Osaka University, Japan

SAC - Satellite and Space Communications (CFP)

  • Igor Bisio, University of Genoa, Italy

SAC - Smart Grid and Power Line Communications (CFP)

  • Giacomo Verticale, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

SAC - Social Networks (CFP)

  • De-Nian Yang, Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica, Taiwan

SAC - Tactile Internet (CFP)

  • Meryem Simsek, Technical University Dresden, Germany

Ad Hoc and Sensor Networks Symposium (CFP)

  • Soumaya Cherkaoui, University of Sherbrooke, Canada
  • Hadi Otrok, Khalifa University, UAE
  • Sharief Oteafy, DePaul University, USA
  • Weixiao Meng, Harbin Institute of Technology, China

Cognitive Radio and Networks Symposium (CFP)

  • Octavia A. Dobre, Memorial University, Canada
  • C. Faouzi Bader, CentraleSupélec, France
  • Zhiyong Feng, Beijing University of Post and Telecommunications, China

Communication and Information System Security Symposium (CFP)

  • Xiaodong Lin, Wilfrid Laurier University, Canada
  • Jiankun Hu, University of New South Wales, Australia
  • Mina S. Guirguis, Texas State University, USA

Communication QoS, Reliability and Modeling Symposium (CFP)

  • Eiji Oki (Lead Co-Chair), Kyoto University, Japan
  • Burak Kantarci, University of Ottawa, Canada

Communication Theory Symposium (CFP)

  • Neelesh B. Mehta, Indian Institute of Science, India
  • Meixia Tao, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Koichi Adachi, the University of Electro-Communications, Japan

Communications Software, Services and Multimedia Applications (CFP)

  • Abdallah Shami, Western University, Canada
  • Huadong Ma, Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China

Green Communication Systems and Networks Symposium (CFP)

  • Shahid Mumtaz, Instituto de Telecomunicações Aveiro, Portugal
  • Emad Alsusa, Manchester University, UK
  • Taisir Elgorashi, Leeds University, UK

Mobile and Wireless Networks Symposium (CFP)

  • Jun Zheng, Southeast University, China
  • Adlen Ksentini, Eurecom, France
  • Sami Muhaidat, Khalifa University, UAE
  • Konstantinos Samdanis, Huawei Tech., Germany

Next-Generation Networking Symposium (CFP)

  • Abdelhamid Mellouk, Université Paris-Est Créteil, France
  • Hongbin Luo, Beihang University, China
  • Periklis Chatzimisios, Alexander TEI of Thessaloniki, Greece

Optical Networks and Systems Symposium (CFP)

  • Xavi Masip-Bruin, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
  • Hakki Cankaya, Fujitsu Network Communications Inc, USA

Signal Processing for Communications Symposium (CFP)

  • Arafat Al-Dweik, Khalifa University, UAE
  • Ali Ghrayeb, Texas A&M University, Qatar
  • Caijun Zhong, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China

Wireless Communications Symposium (CFP)

  • Yuan Shen, Tsinghua University, China
  • Hyunbum Kim, University of North Carolina at Wilmington, USA
  • Daniele Tarchi, University of Bologna, Italy
  • Sheng Zhou, Tsinghua University, China
  • Athanasios C. Iossifides, Alexander TEI of Thessaloniki, Greece

Prospective authors are invited to submit original technical papers for presentation and publication. Accepted and presented technical papers will be published in the IEEE GLOBECOM 2018 Conference Proceedings and submitted to IEEE Xplore®.

Please address questions regarding the Technical Symposia to TPC Chair Abbas Jamalipour ( or TPC Vice Chairs Sonia Aissa ( and Pascal Lorenz ( Please address questions regarding a specific symposium or a SAC symposium track to the respective symposium co-chairs or the SAC symposium track chairs listed on the conference website.

Please make sure to follow the Author and Submission Guidelines listed below.


Important IEEE Policy Announcement: The IEEE reserves the right to exclude a paper from distribution after the conference (including its removal from IEEE Explore) if the paper is not presented at the conference.

Papers are reviewed on the basis that they do not contain plagiarized material and have not been submitted to any other conference at the same time (double submission). These matters are taken very seriously and the IEEE Communications society will take action against any author who engages in either practice. Follow these links to learn more:

IEEE Policy on Plagiarism
IEEE Policy on Double Submission

PLEASE NOTE: To be published in the IEEE GLOBECOM 2018 Conference Proceedings and to be eligible for publication in IEEE Xplore®, an author of an accepted paper is required to register for the conference at the FULL or LIMITED (member or non-member) rate and the paper must be presented by an author of that paper at the conference unless the TPC Chair grants permission for a substitute presenter in advance of the event and who is qualified both to present and answer questions.  Non-refundable registration fees must be paid prior to uploading the final IEEE formatted, publication-ready version of the paper. For authors with multiple accepted papers, one FULL or LIMITED registration is valid for up to 3 papers. Accepted and presented papers will be published in the IEEE GLOBECOM 2018 Conference Proceedings and submitted to IEEE Xplore®.

During the initial paper submission process via EDAS, it is the authors' responsibility to ensure that the author list and the paper title of the submitted pdf file is an exact match to the author list and paper title on the EDAS registration page.  In particular, the EDAS registration page must include all co-authors, not just the submitting author. Failure to comply with this rule might result in your paper being withdrawn from the review process. Please be aware that the author list of an accepted paper can NOT be changed in the final manuscript.

All final submissions should be written in English with a maximum paper length of six (6) printed pages (10-point font) including figures without incurring additional page charges (maximum 1 additional page with over length page charge of USD100 if accepted). Papers exceeding 7 pages will not be accepted at EDAS.

Standard IEEE conference templates for LaTeX formats are found at here: 
You may also use one of the following templates for Microsoft Word: A4, US letter. Only PDF files will be accepted for the review process, and all submissions must be done through EDAS.

If you have any questions regarding the submission of manuscripts, please contact one of the Technical Program Chairs of the Symposia that you are submitting a paper.

Star Diamond Patrons